Blog Post #4

I think that the use of databases like those the FSU library site http://www.lib.fsu.edu/ offers have been the best internet resources I have used. My high school had a similar website of databases, which were accessible outside of school libraries as well, and I found the most reliable, academic sources there to conduct research with. Specifically, if I need to research for a project or paper, I use Academic Search Complete because it offers a broad range of newspapers, journals, and other scholarly sources. Google Scholar is also a good tool for me, and has helped me with schoolwork since high school.

The dangers of using the internet for student research, to me, are mainly plagiarism, copyright infringement, and unreliable sources. In these cases, the internet would be not useful; in plagiarism and copyright infringement, students and/or teachers would be taking advantage of the internet and how it makes research easier by having all the sources in one place- all you have to do is a quick search through the millions of sources compiled for you! I think that’s how the internet is really useful. The information contained in thousands of books and journals and newspapers is all organized into a database, and the search tool goes through all of them for you. You have more at your fingertips.

I think the ABCDE method discussed in the podcast would be really useful in instructing the students on choosing reliable websites. A, to check for authors, B to check for bias, C to check for appropriate content, D for good design, and T to check for technical elements. There are a lot of sites that could lead students astray as far as research goes. I usually only trust the databases I talked about above, or links for organizations I have already checked out. I think it’s interesting that the podcast talks about checking links on a website that you trust, because I had never thought of those dangers. I definitely think it’s important to check out a website before directing your students to it. Too many inappropriate sites exist today, and it would be pretty bad to lead students right to it.

For this week’s Inspiration assignment, I was actually really excited to try a program I had never used before. It was fun exploring the elements of Inspiration that were similar to programs like Microsoft Word that I feel comfortable with now. I didn’t really like the way the arrows and nodes were lined up sometimes when I arranged my nodes into a certain map, so I had to play around with the arrows and stuff a little bit on my own. I think I’d like to be able to take my time in making concept maps with Inspiration if I get to use it again, because there are so many color and design choices to pick through to make a pretty cool concept map for anything I would need to explain in the classroom.

Concept Map 1- Inspiration Assignment

Concept Map 1- Inspiration Assignment

In my AP Literature class senior year, my teacher used a concept map to outline the typical plot progression for certain stories, and I thought it was a great visual representation of major themes in great works. I hope to use something like that in my own classroom.

For my first concept map assignment, to show that I sort’ve knew my way around the technical aspects of Inspiration, I outlined the classes I’ve taken at FSU. It was fun to play around with colors and line thickness and images, too. For the second concept map, I outlined some characters from the book, Candide. I was trying to think quickly so I could finish the assignment in class, so it’s not really my best work, but I like the way it looks, and it includes a link to the SparkNotes list of major characters. I hope we get the chance to play around with it more!

Concept Map 2

Concept Map 2

Comments
2 Responses to “Blog Post #4”
  1. cbl11b says:

    I enjoyed your concept map. I also agree that databases can be useful and I have also used them throughout high school and now in college. They’re great becaue you know you can usually trust what turns up in a search there.

  2. acm12f says:

    I liked that you mentioned the ABCDE method from the podcast. I almost forgot that it said that. Some of those things are what we naturally do to weed out sources without even thinking about it. This method puts it in terms we can explain to students.

Leave a Reply

